Capstone Papers

Student Capstone Papers

"An Integrated Policy Framework for a Capabilities-Driven Approach to Human Spaceflight"
Nokolai Jospeh, Tom Chinick, Trent Schindler, and Jordan Sotudeh

"Adapting to Automation"
Jack Karsten, David Parkes, and Gardner Swan

"Key Policies to Success of NASA's Commercial Crew Program"
Mia Brown, Zach Hester, and Raphael Perrino

"Strategy for a Modern Russian Remote Sensing Industry"
Antonina Gromyko, Brittany Balcom, Ryan Jungdahl, and Hoi Yan Wai

"Analysis, Learning, and Foresight for Assessment and Leadership in Food and Agriculture"
Emerson Elek French

"Improving Training for Collaborative Innovation"
Jonathan Berliner, Alex Pan, Rotsy Razafimanantoanina, and Katlyn Scholl

"United States Legal and Policy Impediments to On-Orbit Satellite Servicing Activities, with Recommended Policies and Legal Implementations"
Dave Belcher, Scott Freese, Katrina Laygo, and Daniel Osborn

"University Collaboration at Sandia National Laboratories: Policy Proposal for the Laboratory Fellows Program"
Tim Arnold, Linda George, and Christina Walrond


"Biosecurity at iGEM; Ensuring the Secure Advancement of Synthetic Biology by the Next Generation"
Michelle Cann, James Kettenhofen, and Rosanna Smith

"Commercial Alternatives to Traditional NOAA Satellite Data Procurement"
Samantha Marquart, Koichi Masuda, and Anthony Campo

"Improving Space Situational Awareness"
Travis Cottom, Joel Hicks, Michael Lapidus, and Brian Weeden

"Innovation Policy Strategy: Brazil, Kazakhstan, & Mexico"
Michael Bush, Stefania Di Mauro-Nava, and Jeffrey Lin

"Public Policy Strategy for the IEEE Computer Society"
Pedro A. Falto and Eduardo Sastre Fuente

"Assessing the Value of Loan Guarantees as an Instrument for Supporting the Deployment of New Clean Energy Technology"
Benjamin Boroughs, Steven Deitz, Daniel Waggoner, Timothy Williams

"US Army Information Technology Management"
Steve Casazza, Shanna Hendrix, Daryl Lederle, and Eric Rouge

"Analyzing the Development Paths of Emerging Spacefaring Nations Opportunities or Challenges for Space Sustainability?"
M. Ansdell, L. Delgado, D. Hendrickson

"CubeSat Programs for Developing Nations"
Connie Spittler, Fuad Guliyev, Jason Callahan

"Industrial Growth Plus Rural Development"
Patrick Besha, Alejandro Caceres, Anne Mira-Guha, Eli Sipos

"Measuring the Impact of EU Federal Scientific Investments"
Rafif Al-Sayed, Geetu Ambwani, Debbie Hughes, Kevin Porter

"Smart Transitions"
George Ivanov, Kristen Epresi, Cheri Pascoe, Matthew Isakowitz

"Synthetic Aperture Radar Applications"
Nick Austin, Nicole Herrmann, Noëlle Miliard

For more information, check out this video by former student Michael Bush on the capstone experiance.


Event Recording: Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz

A full video of the April 29th lecture event on "Science and Technology Policy in Brazil: The Role of Sub-National Initiatives," given by the Science Director of the Sao Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP), Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz. This event was part of annual Allan Bromley Memorial Lecutre, co-hosted with the University of Ottawa. 

Al Teich at the Euroscience Open Forum

Research Professor Albert Teich traveled to Copenhagen, Denmark, to participate in the 2014 Euroscience Open Forum (ESOF2014), June 21-26.  ESOF is Europe’s largest, general science meeting. Teich was a member of ESOF's Scientific Program Committee. The meeting featured 120 sessions, plus plenaries and keynote lectures and drew 4,500 participants. Almost 40,000 local residents participated in the "Science in the City Festival" held conjunction with the meeting.

Nicholas S. Vonortas appointed to São Paulo Excellence Chair

The UNICAMP Departamento de Política Científica e Tecnológica has established a new research and doctoral teaching programme on innovation policy and innovation systems centered around a São Paulo Excellence Chair (SPEC).  A novel funding instrument in the State of São Paulo, the new SPEC programme was established recently at DPCT by the São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP).  It is established for five years, starting September 1, 2014, with the possibility of further extension.