Visiting Scholars

Nammi Choe, Korean Aerospace Research Institute, Korea
(January 2015 - December 2015)
Research Topic: U.S. Non-Proliferation Policy Towards Asian Space Activities

Zahid Mian Hussain, Government Degree College, Pakistan
(January 2015 - May 2015)
Research Topic: Nuclear Non-Proliferation

Takehito Morishima, Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Japan
(April 2014 – April 2015)
Research Topic: Enhancing Cooperation and Innovation in Space

Jonghee Park, Board of Audit and Inspection, Korea
(November 2014 – December 2016)
Research Topic: Electricity Demand Management Policy

Anna Slomovic, Consultant, USA
(April 2014 – October 2014)
Research Topic: Wearable Devices and Privacy

Marcelo Tete, Universidade Federal de Goiás, Brasil
(February 2015 – May 2015)
Research Topic: The Coevolution Between Technological Trajectories and Institutions

Note: Those interested in becoming Visiting Scholars should submit a letter of interest with details on your intended research project to Director Allison Macfarlane at least four (4) months in advance of their requested start time.  Visiting Scholars are charged a bench fee of $1000 per month to cover the costs of office space, computer, local telephone and data hook up, and staff support. Under some circumstances, visitors may apply to the center director for a partial or total waiver of this fee.

For bios of our previous visiting scholars, please click here.



Allison Macfarlane to Join CISTP as New Director

Allison Macfarlane will join the Elliott School in January 2015 as a professor of public policy and international affairs. She will be the new Director of the Elliott School’s Center for International Science and Technology Policy as well as Director of the M.A. program in International Science and Technology Policy.

Al Teich at the Euroscience Open Forum

Research Professor Albert Teich traveled to Copenhagen, Denmark, to participate in the 2014 Euroscience Open Forum (ESOF2014), June 21-26.  ESOF is Europe’s largest, general science meeting. Teich was a member of ESOF's Scientific Program Committee. The meeting featured 120 sessions, plus plenaries and keynote lectures and drew 4,500 participants. Almost 40,000 local residents participated in the "Science in the City Festival" held conjunction with the meeting.

Nicholas S. Vonortas appointed to São Paulo Excellence Chair

The UNICAMP Departamento de Política Científica e Tecnológica has established a new research and doctoral teaching programme on innovation policy and innovation systems centered around a São Paulo Excellence Chair (SPEC).  A novel funding instrument in the State of São Paulo, the new SPEC programme was established recently at DPCT by the São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP).  It is established for five years, starting September 1, 2014, with the possibility of further extension.