Faculty & Staff


Allison Macfarlane, Director, Center for International Science & Technology Policy; Director, International Science & Technology Policy Program

Roxanne Bublitz, Institute Operations Manager


Pascale Ehrenfreund, (Ph.D. Thesis University of Vienna/ University Paris VII) Research Professor of Space Policy and International Affairs. Molecular Biology, Space Science and related policy making, technology management.

Henry J. Farrell, (Ph.D., Georgetown University) Assistant Professor of Political Science and International Affairs. European Union and European integration, e-commerce, politics and blogs.

David Alan Grier, (Ph.D., University of Washington) Associate Professor of International Science and Technology Policy and International Affairs. Technology development, Innovation, history of science, scientific institutions, international trade, and information and communication technology policy.

Henry R. Hertzfeld, (J.D., George Washington University, PhD, Temple University) Research Professor of Space Policy and International Affairs. Economic and legal issues of space policy, commercial uses of space technologies, technology policy, innovation and technology transfer, microeconomic analysis, administrative law.

John M. Logsdon, (Ph.D., New York University) Former Director of Center for International Science and Technology Policy, Space Policy Institute. Research Professor of Space Policy and International Affairs and Professor Emeritus of Political Science and International Affairs. Space policy, security, space technology and history.

Allison Macfarlane, (Ph.D. Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Professor of Science and Technology Policy. Nuclear waste disposal, nuclear energy, regalatory issues, and science and technology policy.
Additional Information P D F file icon

Scott Pace, (Ph.D., RAND Graduate School) Director of Space Policy Institute. U.S. and international space policy issues, approaches to policy and program analysis, and international negotiations.

Robert W. Rycroft, (Ph.D., University of Oklahoma) Professor of International Science and Technology Policy and International Affairs. Science, technology and public policy; science, technology and complexity; environmental and energy politics.

Nicholas S. Vonortas, (Ph.D., New York University) Professor of Economics and International Affairs. Economics of technological change, industrial organization, science and technology policymaking.
Additional Information P D F file icon

Al Teich, (Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Research Professor of Science, Technology & International Affairs.

Affiliated Faculty

Christopher Cahill, (Ph.D., SUNY-Stony Brook) Professor of Chemistry and International Affairs. Hybrid materials, f-element chemistry, Nuclear fuel cycle, X-ray crystallography, and Luminescent materials.

Joseph J. Cordes, (Ph.D., University of Wisconsin) Director, Ph.D. Program in Public Policy. Professor of Economics, Public Policy and Public Administration, and International Affairs. Public finance, taxation, corporation financial policy. Now he is the director of Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Public Administration at the George Washington University (GW-TSPPPA).

Leon Fuerth, (MPA, Harvard University), Research Professor of National Security and International Affairs. National security and International Cooperation.

Joel Hicks (M.S. Electrical Engineering, Naval Postgraduate School, M.A. National Security and Strategic Studies, Naval War College, M.A. International Science and Technology Policy, The George Washington University) Ph.D. student, George Mason University School of Public Policy. The Elliott School of International Affairs (ESIA) courses: "International Issues in Energy Policy", "Science, Technology and Energy Policy", and "Energy and the Environment."

Rachel Parker, (PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara; MSc London School of Economics and Political Science) Research Staff Member, Science & Technology Policy Institute.  International development, economic sociology, emerging technologies and economic development, nanotechnology policy in the United States and China. 

Joseph N. Pelton, (Ph.D., Georgetown University) Research Professor, Institute for Applied Space Research, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, School of Engineering, George Washington University. 
Additional Information P D F file icon

Jennifer Spencer, (Ph.D., University of Minnesota) Associate Professor of International Business, School of Business and Public Management, George Washington University. Commercialization of New High Technology Product, National Systems of Innovation, National Institutional Environments Supporting Entrepreneurial Activity. Now she is the director of the Center for International Business Education and Research at the George Washington University (GW-CIBER).

Zoe Szanjnfarber, (Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology) Assistant Professor of Engineering Management Systems Engineering at The George Washington University School of Engineering and Applied Science. Researching innovation dynamics and technology management in space agencies.
Additional Information P D F file icon



Allison Macfarlane to Join CISTP as New Director

Allison Macfarlane will join the Elliott School in January 2015 as a professor of public policy and international affairs. She will be the new Director of the Elliott School’s Center for International Science and Technology Policy as well as Director of the M.A. program in International Science and Technology Policy.

Al Teich at the Euroscience Open Forum

Research Professor Albert Teich traveled to Copenhagen, Denmark, to participate in the 2014 Euroscience Open Forum (ESOF2014), June 21-26.  ESOF is Europe’s largest, general science meeting. Teich was a member of ESOF's Scientific Program Committee. The meeting featured 120 sessions, plus plenaries and keynote lectures and drew 4,500 participants. Almost 40,000 local residents participated in the "Science in the City Festival" held conjunction with the meeting.

Nicholas S. Vonortas appointed to São Paulo Excellence Chair

The UNICAMP Departamento de Política Científica e Tecnológica has established a new research and doctoral teaching programme on innovation policy and innovation systems centered around a São Paulo Excellence Chair (SPEC).  A novel funding instrument in the State of São Paulo, the new SPEC programme was established recently at DPCT by the São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP).  It is established for five years, starting September 1, 2014, with the possibility of further extension.